Vocational Scholarships

Altrusa – Leading to a Better Community

Altrusa International of Branch County awards scholarships annually to non-traditional students who are pursuing post-secondary education and are Branch County residents. The scholarship awards are intended to help recipients get a fresh start, make a career change, or advance in their field.

The scholarship program began as a way to recognize high school students for their community service achievements but evolved as the club recognized a need for adults returning to school. While need and career/educational goals play a part in the selection, community service remains an important criteria for the scholarship.

The selected recipient(s) will receive a minimum of a $1,000 scholarship to be awarded at the May program meeting of the club.  Only fully completed applications including a one to two page narrative will be considered. Funds for the scholarships come from two major club fund raisers, the Altrusa Golf Scramble held the Friday before Memorial Day and Altrusa’s Diamond Raffle, and the Louise Wallace Scholarship Fund. The club established the Branch County Community Foundation fund in memory of the late club president.


Applications may be downloaded below or picked up are available at Michigan Works in Coldwater, Branch District libraries, Kellogg Community College, or the link below.

2019 Altrusa Scholarship Application – Deadline Sunday, March 31, 2019.

Media Release 2019 Media Release

2015 Scholarship Recipients

Pictured at left:

Top row left to right: 2015 Committee members DeAnne Hawley and Chair Rhonda Ives

Middle row left to right: 2015 Committee members Karmen Case and Mary Jo Johnson, Branch County Community Foundation Executive Director Colleen Knight, and Eugene Wallace

Bottom row left to right: 2015 Scholarship recipients Stacie Miller, Rebecca Boarts, Emily Sylvester, and Deborah Geiger

Stacie Miller, Emily Sylvester, and Deborah Geiger received Altrusa Vocational Scholarships while Rebecca Boarts was the recipient of the Louise Wallace Scholarship. A total of $6,000 was awarded in 2015.